EN | FR

Information about 2015 Sanofi
Recall Exchange Program

Close

EN | FR

Navigation Sign Up for Updates

About Kaléo

About Kaléo

Kaléo is a new type of pharmaceutical company, dedicated to building innovative solutions for serious and life‑threatening medical conditions.

BUILT FOR PATIENTS

We believe you are the expert on how your medical condition impacts your life, and so we bring people like you directly into our product development process.

BUILT BY PATIENTS

When our founders, twin brothers Eric and Evan Edwards, were young children, they were diagnosed with life‑threatening allergies to a wide range of items—including peanuts, tree nuts, seafood and eggs—and they were taught to carry a dose of epinephrine with them at all times. Eric and Evan decided to develop another option for patients like themselves and, in their late teens, conceived a new epinephrine delivery system. This led to the formation of Intelliject, later renamed kaléo.

A woman and her daughter walking along a beach.

THOUGHTFULLY DESIGNED

From the very beginning, Human Factors Engineering (HFE) has been central to kaléo’s development approach. HFE is about designing products or systems that are easy to operate and, most importantly, support correct use. With more and more medicines intended for administration without the presence of a healthcare professional, the goal is to remove the potential for error from life‑threatening situations—in other words, from those moments when everyone’s senses are often compromised.

The Human Factors
Engineering
(HFE) process

THE HFE PROCESS

Our HFE process is cyclical, producing many evolving design iterations. This means that with each round of development, we test with patients, doctors and caregivers who provide feedback that then allows us to evolve the design and test again, until everyone is satisfied.

SETTING THE STANDARD

We don’t just adhere to HFE. We aim to set the standard on incorporating HFE into product development. In fact, we are represented in U.S. and international expert groups dedicated to HFE, including the Human Factors & Ergonomics Society (HFES), as well as the Medical Devices for Injection and Human Factors committees of the Association of the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI).

Want to learn more about us? VISIT THE KALÉO WEBSITE

EN | FR

EN | FR

Navigation Inscription aux mises à jour

À propos de Kaléo

À propos de Kaléo

Kaléo est un nouveau type d’entreprise pharmaceutique, qui se consacre à l’élaboration de solutions innovantes pour les problèmes de santé graves qui mettent la vie en danger.

CONÇU POUR LES PATIENTS

Nous croyons que personne n’est mieux placé que vous pour connaître les effets de vos problèmes médicaux sur votre vie. C’est pourquoi nous incluons directement les gens comme vous au cœur du processus de développement de nos produits.

FABRIQUÉ PAR LES PATIENTS

Alors qu’ils étaient encore tout jeunes, nos fondateurs, les jumeaux Eric et Evan Edwards, ont appris qu’ils souffraient d’allergies mortelles à un vaste éventail de produits, dont les arachides, les noix, les fruits de mer et les œufs. C’est ainsi qu’ils ont dû commencer à transporter une dose d’épinéphrine en tout temps. Eric et Evan ont donc décidé de développer une autre option pour les patients comme eux et, à la fin de l’adolescence, ils ont conçu un nouveau système d’administration d’épinéphrine. Ce fut le début d’Intelliject, connue aujourd’hui sous le nom de kaléo.

Une femme et sa fille marchant sur une plage.

BIEN CONÇU

Depuis le tout début, l’ingénierie des facteurs humains (IFH) est au cœur de l’approche développementale de kaléo. L’IFH s’appuie sur la conception de produits ou systèmes faciles à utiliser et, surtout, qui peuvent être utilisés de façon optimale. Puisque de plus en plus de médicaments sont conçus pour une administration sans aide de professionnels de la santé, le but est d’éviter les risques d’erreur lors de situations où la vie est en danger; en d’autres termes, pour les moments où nos sens sont souvent mis à rude épreuve.

Le processus de l’ingénierie des facteurs humains (IFH)

Le processus de l’IFH

Notre processus de l'IFH est cyclique, en perpétuelle évolution. Cela signifie qu’à chaque étape de développement, nous effectuons des tests avec des patients, des médecins et des aidants, qui nous donnent leurs commentaires et nous permettent de faire évoluer le design. Nous effectuons alors d’autres tests, jusqu’à ce que tout le monde soit satisfait.

ÉTABLIR LA NORME

Nous n’adhérons pas seulement à l’IFH. Nous aspirons à établir la norme sur l’intégration de l’IFH dans le développement des produits. En fait, nous sommes représentés dans des groupes d’experts de l’IFH aux États‑Unis et à l’international, y compris dans la Human Factors & Ergonomics Society (HFES), ainsi que dans les comités de Medical Devices for Injection and Human Factors de l’Association of the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI).

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus à propos de nous? VISITER LE SITE WEB DE KALÉO