EN | FR

Information about 2015 Sanofi
Recall Exchange Program

Close

EN | FR

Navigation Sign Up for Updates

Frequently Asked Questions about ALLERJECT

What is ALLERJECT?

ALLERJECT is for the emergency treatment of serious allergic reactions (anaphylaxis) and is intended for people who are at risk and for people with a history of serious allergic reactions (anaphylaxis).1

What is ALLERJECT used for?

ALLERJECT is for the emergency treatment of serious allergic reactions (anaphylaxis) and is intended for people who are at risk and for people with a history of serious allergic reactions (anaphylaxis).

ALLERJECT should be used immediately to treat yourself or your child when experiencing a severe allergic reaction. This is emergency treatment. It does not replace seeing a doctor or going to the hospital. After injection, seek immediate medical attention.

Talk to your doctor or pharmacist to discuss treatment options for anaphylaxis and whether ALLERJECT is right for you. Always read and follow the patient information leaflet that comes with your ALLERJECT device.1

What is anaphylaxis?

Anaphylaxis is a severe and life-threatening type of allergic reaction.* It can be triggered by foods (e.g., peanuts, shellfish), insect stings, certain medications, latex or other allergens. Anaphylaxis can also be triggered by exercise. Sometimes, there is no way to tell what triggered an anaphylactic reaction.1

* ALLERJECT is not indicated to prevent death associated with anaphylaxis.

How common is anaphylaxis?

One to 2% of the general population is estimated to be at risk for anaphylaxis from food allergies and insect stings, with a lower reported prevalence for drugs and latex. People with asthma are at particular risk.1

Is ALLERJECT bioequivalent to EpiPen®?

In Canada, ALLERJECT and EpiPen contain the same amount of active ingredient. You are encouraged to speak with your doctor to learn about treatment options and determine if ALLERJECT is right for you.1,3

Is ALLERJECT the same as AUVI-Q?

The 0.15 mg and 0.3 mg ALLERJECT auto‑injectors contain the same drug and device components as AUVI-Q auto‑injectors. The only difference between the two auto‑injectors is the product labelling; for example, ALLERJECT has a hold time of 5 seconds while AUVI-Q has a hold time of 2 seconds. Additionally, ALLERJECT is available in French while AUVI-Q is not.2

Do I need a prescription for ALLERJECT? Or can I get ALLERJECT directly from my pharmacist?

ALLERJECT has been designated as an ethical drug under the Canadian Food and Drug Regulations. An ethical drug does not require a prescription; however, different provinces and territories, as well as insurance providers, may require a prescription. Consumers should contact their pharmacist or healthcare provider for information on how to obtain ALLERJECT.

How is ALLERJECT manufactured?

ALLERJECT is manufactured on a 100% automated robotic production line with over 100 automated quality checks on each ALLERJECT device, helping to ensure a streamlined and consistent production process. The automated robotic production line helps us produce a consistent, high-quality product, and uses specially calibrated sensors and vision inspection systems to help ensure each component is assembled into ALLERJECT with precision. Every component built into each ALLERJECT has a unique identifier and is tracked throughout the manufacturing process.2

How long is the battery life of ALLERJECT?

The batteries provide sufficient power for the electronic prompt system to be turned on and off once a week for 3 years.2

If the battery dies, is ALLERJECT still able to deliver the appropriate dosage?

Yes, the electronic components of ALLERJECT function independently of the drug delivery mechanism. This means that even if the battery does not work, epinephrine will still be delivered.1

How does ALLERJECT work?

Once the safety guard is removed and the black base is depressed, one end of the needle extends outside of the device into the patient’s thigh while the other end punctures the cartridge to deliver the dose of epinephrine.2

What dosage strengths are currently available for ALLERJECT?

ALLERJECT is currently available in two dosages: 0.15 mg (for patients 15–30 kg) and 0.3 mg (for patients 30 kg or more).1

What are the contraindications associated with ALLERJECT?

There are no absolute contraindications to the use of epinephrine in a life-threatening allergic situation. However, it is important to tell your doctor or pharmacist about any medical conditions or medications you take prior to using ALLERJECT.1

What are the warnings and precautions associated with ALLERJECT?

For warnings and precautions associated with ALLERJECT, please read our Indication and Safety Information section.

How do I get a trainer for ALLERJECT?

You can sign up to order a free trainer device, or you can talk to your healthcare provider or pharmacist.

How do I know that ALLERJECT has been used?

Following use, the LED lights will blink red, the black base will lock into place and the voice instruction system will say that ALLERJECT has been used. Additionally, in used devices the viewing window will no longer be completely clear.1

Will ALLERJECT say “injection complete” even if it is used improperly?

The “injection complete” voice instruction indicates only that the medication in ALLERJECT has been dispensed. It is not an indicator of whether the device has been used properly. ALLERJECT has both audio and visual cues that provide guidance on proper usage. As a reminder, patients should always seek immediate medical attention following an epinephrine injection whether or not they’ve used the device properly. Make sure to inform the healthcare provider of the location if an accidental injection has occurred.

Can ALLERJECT be reused?

No. ALLERJECT is a single-use epinephrine auto‑injector. After use, patients will need to obtain a new ALLERJECT. Until patients dispose of their used ALLERJECT, the interactive voice instruction system will remind them that it has been used each time the outer case is removed.1

Can I replace the red safety guard on the active ALLERJECT device?

The red safety guard CANNOT be replaced once it has been removed. Only remove the red safety guard when ready to use ALLERJECT for an allergic emergency. Please note the active ALLERJECT should not be used for training purposes. Instead, the trainer for ALLERJECT should be used to practice.

Once the red safety guard has been removed, even if removed in error, please obtain a replacement ALLERJECT.1

In the event of an anaphylactic reaction, can patients/caregivers bypass voice instructions to receive immediate treatment?

Yes, ALLERJECT allows users to move ahead without waiting for the voice-guided instructions. The voice instructions will keep up with the user. Conversely, if a patient needs more time, the voice instructions will repeat twice until the user performs the step or replaces the outer case.2

Is ALLERJECT available in languages other than English?

At this time, ALLERJECT is available in English and French.1

How should I dispose of ALLERJECT?

Patients or caregivers should take used or expired ALLERJECT back to their healthcare providers for proper disposal (never discard ALLERJECT in the regular trash).

Will ALLERJECT work if exposed to water or rain?

Yes, ALLERJECT will work even if exposed to water or rain.2 Although water may affect the voice prompt system, ALLERJECT will still inject a dose of epinephrine if used according to the instructions on the label, even if the voice prompts are not working.1

Will ALLERJECT work if completely immersed in water?

There is no data available regarding the total immersion of ALLERJECT in water such as dropping it in the bathtub, toilet, pool or ocean, or putting it through the washing machine. If it is known or suspected that ALLERJECT has been immersed in water, then ALLERJECT should not be used and should be disposed of properly. A new ALLERJECT auto‑injector should be obtained.2

Is ALLERJECT light sensitive?

The epinephrine in ALLERJECT is light sensitive. ALLERJECT should be stored in the outer case provided to protect it from light.1 Once the auto-injector’s outer case is removed, the epinephrine solution is exposed to light through the viewing window. ALLERJECT has been tested to demonstrate that the device stored in the outer case adequately protects the drug product from fluorescent and UV light exposure.2

What is the expiration dating for ALLERJECT?

The expiration dating for ALLERJECT will vary depending on when the product is dispensed from your pharmacy. Retail pharmacies control store inventory and thus the product dating may vary by pharmacy store location. Please reach out to the pharmacy where you filled your ALLERJECT prescription with any questions.2

Can ALLERJECT be refrigerated or frozen?

No, ALLERJECT should not be refrigerated or frozen.1

Can I store ALLERJECT in my car?

Do not expose ALLERJECT to extreme heat or extreme cold. Do NOT store ALLERJECT in a vehicle glove box.1

Can ALLERJECT be used at high altitudes?

While passenger and luggage compartments in aircraft are pressurized, altitude function testing demonstrated that the device functions correctly (delivers a dose of medication) at altitudes up to 3,048 metres.2

Can ALLERJECT go through the scanners at airport security checkpoints?

ALLERJECT has been tested to demonstrate that there is no significant effect on the product caused by exposure to x-rays such as from travelling through airport security.2

What if I drop ALLERJECT or otherwise damage it?

ALLERJECT has been designed to withstand normal physical impacts such as dropping. However, if there is any doubt about the functionality of the ALLERJECT, another prescription should be filled.2

Does ALLERJECT contain any animal derivatives?

No. The formulated drug product does not contain and is not derived from animal, vegetable, or human origin, nor does it come in contact with any other materials of animal, vegetable, or human origin during its manufacture.2

Does ALLERJECT contain latex?

No. ALLERJECT contains no latex in components, materials, or associated packaging that are human contacting, nor are they derived from latex.1

Can people with a sulfite allergy use ALLERJECT?

This product contains sodium metabisulfite, a substance which may cause allergic-type reactions including anaphylactic symptoms or mild to severe asthmatic episodes in certain susceptible persons.

Nevertheless, epinephrine is the drug of choice for serious allergic reactions and the presence of a sulfite in this product should not deter administration of the drug for treatment of serious allergic or other emergency situations, even if you are sulfite-sensitive. Please talk to your doctor or pharmacist about any medical conditions/medications you are taking prior to using ALLERJECT.1

References: 1. ALLERJECT Product Monograph. kaléo, Inc. November 21, 2019. 2. Data on file. 3. EPIPEN Product Monograph. Dey Pharma, L.P. March 13, 2012.

EN | FR

EN | FR

Navigation Inscription aux mises à jour

Questions fréquentes à propos d’ALLERJECT

Qu’est-ce qu’ALLERJECT?

ALLERJECT est un traitement d’urgence contre les réactions allergiques graves (anaphylaxie) et est conçu pour les personnes qui présentent un risque ou qui ont des antécédents de réactions allergiques graves (anaphylaxie)1.

Pour quoi ALLERJECT est-il utilisé?

ALLERJECT est un traitement d’urgence contre les réactions allergiques graves (anaphylaxie) et est conçu pour les personnes qui présentent un risque ou qui ont des antécédents de réactions allergiques graves (anaphylaxie).

ALLERJECT doit être utilisé immédiatement pour vous traiter, ou traiter votre enfant, en cas de réactions allergiques graves. Il s’agit d’un traitement d’urgence. Il ne remplace pas la consultation d’un médecin ou une visite à l’hôpital. Après l’injection, recherchez immédiatement des soins médicaux.

Consultez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien pour discuter des options de traitement pour l’anaphylaxie et pour déterminer si ALLERJECT vous convient. Veuillez toujours lire le dépliant d’information pour le patient qui accompagne votre appareil ALLERJECT1.

Qu’est-ce que l’anaphylaxie?

L’anaphylaxie est un type sévère de réaction allergique pouvant causer la mort*. Elle peut être provoquée par des aliments (p. ex. : arachides, fruits de mer), des piqûres d’insectes, certains médicaments, le latex ou d’autres allergènes. L’anaphylaxie peut aussi être causée par l’exercice. Parfois, il est impossible de dire ce qui a provoqué une réaction anaphylactique1.

* ALLERJECT n’est pas indiqué pour prévenir la mort associée à l’anaphylaxie.

L’anaphylaxie est-elle courante?

Environ 1 à 2 % de la population est considérée comme étant à risque d’anaphylaxie provoquée par des allergies alimentaires et des piqûres d’insectes, avec une prévalence déclarée plus faible pour les médicaments et le latex. Les personnes souffrant d’asthme sont particulièrement à risque1.

ALLERJECT est-il le bioéquivalent d’EpiPenMD?

Au Canada, ALLERJECT et EpiPen présentent la même quantité d’ingrédient actif. Discutez avec votre médecin pour en savoir plus à propos de vos options de traitement et déterminer si ALLERJECT vous convient1,3.

ALLERJECT est-il le même qu’AUVI-Q?

Les auto-injecteurs ALLERJECT de 0,15 mg et 0,3 mg contiennent le même médicament et les mêmes composantes que les auto-injecteurs AUVI-Q. La seule différence entre les deux auto-injecteurs est l’étiquetage du produit; par exemple, ALLERJECT a un délai d’injection de cinq secondes alors qu’AUVI-Q a un délai de deux secondes. De plus, ALLERJECT est offert en français contrairement à AUVI-Q2.

Ai-je besoin d’une ordonnance pour ALLERJECT? Puis-je demander ALLERJECT directement à mon pharmacien?

ALLERJECT a été conçu en tant que médicament éthique régi par le Règlement sur les aliments et drogues du Canada. Un médicament éthique ne nécessite aucune ordonnance; néanmoins, certaines provinces et territoires, ainsi que des compagnies d’assurance, pourraient exiger une ordonnance. Les consommateurs doivent alors contacter leur pharmacien ou leur professionnel de la santé pour savoir comment obtenir ALLERJECT.

Comment ALLERJECT est-il fabriqué?

ALLERJECT est fabriqué sur une chaîne de production robotisée 100 % automatisée comptant plus de 100 contrôles de qualité sur chaque appareil ALLERJECT, aidant ainsi à assurer un processus de production fluide et uniforme. La chaîne de production robotisée nous aide à produire un produit homogène de haute qualité. Elle utilise des capteurs et des systèmes d’inspection visuelle spécialement calibrés pour s’assurer que chaque composante de l’appareil ALLERJECT est assemblée avec précision. Chaque composante d’ALLERJECT possède un identifiant unique qui permet d’en effectuer un suivi tout au long du processus de fabrication2.

Quelle est la durée de vie de la batterie d’ALLERJECT?

La batterie fournit assez d’énergie pour que le système électronique de l’appareil puisse être activé une fois par semaine pendant trois ans2.

Si la batterie est épuisée, ALLERJECT sera-t-il toujours en mesure d’administrer le dosage approprié?

Oui, les composantes électroniques d’ALLERJECT fonctionnent indépendamment du système d’injection. Cela signifie que même si la batterie ne fonctionne plus, l’épinéphrine sera tout de même administrée1.

Comment ALLERJECT fonctionne-t-il?

Une fois le dispositif de sécurité enlevé et la base noire abaissée, une extrémité de l’aiguille se déploie hors de l’appareil jusque dans la cuisse du patient tandis que l’autre extrémité de l’aiguille vient percer la cartouche pour administrer l’épinéphrine2.

Quels sont les concentrations actuellement offertes pour ALLERJECT?

ALLERJECT est actuellement offert en deux concentrations : 0,15 mg (pour les patients entre 15 et 30 kg) et 0,3 mg (pour les patients de 30 kg ou plus)1.

Quelles sont les contre-indications associées à ALLERJECT?

Il n’y a aucune contre-indication absolue à l’utilisation de l’épinéphrine en cas de réaction allergique pouvant causer la mort. Néanmoins, il est important d’informer votre médecin ou votre pharmacien de tout problème médical ou de médicaments que vous prenez avant d’utiliser ALLERJECT1.

Quelles sont les mises en garde et précautions associées à ALLERJECT?

Pour les mises en garde et précautions associées à ALLERJECT, veuillez consulter notre section Indications et renseignements à propos de la sécurité.

Comment obtenir un appareil d’essai ALLERJECT?

Vous pouvez vous inscrire pour obtenir un appareil d’essai gratuit, ou vous pouvez en faire la demande à votre professionnel de la santé ou votre pharmacien.

Comment savoir si un appareil ALLERJECT a été utilisé?

Après usage, le voyant DEL clignotera en rouge, la base noire se verrouillera et l’assistant vocal dira que l’appareil ALLERJECT a été utilisé. De plus, dans les appareils utilisés, l’écran de visualisation ne sera plus totalement clair1.

Est-ce qu’ALLERJECT dira « Injection terminée » même si l’appareil n’a pas été utilisé correctement?

Le message vocal « Injection terminée » indique uniquement que le produit contenu dans ALLERJECT a été éjecté. Il n’indique pas que le produit a été bien utilisé. ALLERJECT compte des signaux auditifs et visuels pour vous guider dans le processus d’injection. Nous vous rappelons que les patients doivent toujours obtenir une aide médicale immédiate après une injection d’épinéphrine, qu’elle ait été effectuée correctement ou non. Assurez-vous d’informer votre professionnel de la santé de l’emplacement de toute injection involontaire.

ALLERJECT peut-il être réutilisé?

Non. ALLERJECT est un auto-injecteur d’épinéphrine à usage unique. Après usage, les patients devront se procurer un autre appareil ALLERJECT. Jusqu’à ce que les patients jettent leur appareil ALLERJECT utilisé, le système d’instructions vocales leur rappellera qu’il a déjà été utilisé chaque fois qu’il est ressorti de l’étui1.

Puis-je replacer le dispositif de sécurité rouge sur un appareil ALLERJECT actif?

Le dispositif de sécurité rouge NE PEUT PAS être remis en place une fois enlevé. Ne retirez le dispositif de sécurité rouge que lorsque vous êtes prêt à utiliser ALLERJECT pour une urgence allergique. N’utilisez pas un appareil ALLERJECT actif pour vous entraîner. Prenez plutôt l’appareil d’essai.

Une fois le dispositif de sécurité rouge enlevé, même s’il s’agit d’une erreur, remplacez immédiatement votre appareil ALLERJECT1.

Dans le cas d’une réaction anaphylactique, les patients ou aidants peuvent-ils passer outre les instructions vocales pour recevoir un traitement immédiat?

Oui, ALLERJECT permet à ses utilisateurs d’agir sans avoir à attendre les instructions vocales. Les instructions vocales s’ajusteront au patient. Si par exemple le patient a besoin de plus de temps, les instructions seront répétées jusqu’à ce que le patient accomplisse la tâche ou repositionne l’appareil dans l’étui2.

ALLERJECT est-il offert en d’autres langues que l’anglais?

Actuellement, ALLERJECT est offert en français et en anglais1.

Où dois-je jeter ALLERJECT?

Les patients ou les aidants doivent rapporter leur appareil ALLERJECT utilisé ou expiré chez leur professionnel de la santé afin de s’en défaire correctement (ne jamais mettre ALLERJECT à la poubelle).

ALLERJECT fonctionnera-t-il s’il est exposé à l’eau?

Oui, ALLERJECT fonctionnera même s’il a été exposé à l’eau2. Bien que l’eau puisse endommager l’assistant vocal, ALLERJECT pourra quand même injecter une dose d’épinéphrine si utilisé conformément aux instructions sur l’emballage, même si l’assistant vocal ne fonctionne pas1.

ALLERJECT fonctionnera-t-il s’il est complètement immergé dans l’eau?

Il n’y a aucune donnée existante concernant l’immersion totale d’ALLERJECT, comme par exemple s’il est échappé dans une baignoire, dans une cuvette de toilettes, dans une piscine ou dans l’océan, ou encore s’il est mis dans une laveuse. Si vous savez ou suspectez que votre appareil ALLERJECT a été immergé dans l’eau, vous ne devriez pas l’utiliser, mais plutôt vous en défaire adéquatement et vous procurer un nouvel appareil ALLERJECT2.

ALLERJECT est-il sensible à la lumière?

L’épinéphrine contenue dans ALLERJECT est sensible à la lumière. ALLERJECT devrait être rangé dans l’étui fourni pour le protéger de la lumière1. Une fois l’auto-injecteur sorti de l’étui, l’épinéphrine est exposée à la lumière à travers la fenêtre d’observation. Des tests effectués démontrent que lorsque l’appareil ALLERJECT est rangé dans son étui, le médicament est protégé des rayons UV et de l’éclairage fluorescent2.

Quelle est la date d’expiration d’ALLERJECT?

La date d’expiration d’ALLERJECT varie en fonction du moment où le produit a été obtenu en pharmacie. Les pharmacies font un suivi de leurs stocks et la date d’expiration du produit peut varier selon la pharmacie. Veuillez contacter la pharmacie dans laquelle vous avez obtenu votre appareil ALLERJECT si vous avez des questions2.

ALLERJECT peut-il être réfrigéré ou congelé?

Non, ALLERJECT ne doit en aucun cas être réfrigéré ou congelé1.

Puis-je conserver ALLERJECT dans ma voiture?

N’exposez pas ALLERJECT à des températures extrêmes (froides ou chaudes). NE rangez PAS ALLERJECT dans la boîte à gants de votre véhicule1.

ALLERJECT peut-il être utilisé à de hautes altitudes?

Bien que la cabine des passagers et le compartiment à bagages d’un avion soient pressurisés, des tests en altitude ont démontré que l’appareil fonctionne correctement (il administre la bonne dose de médicament) jusqu’à une altitude de 3 048 mètres2.

ALLERJECT peut-il passer sous les scanneurs des contrôles de sécurité en aéroport?

Des tests sur ALLERJECT ont démontré que les rayons X, comme ceux des contrôles de sécurité d’un aéroport, n’ont aucun effet significatif sur le produit2.

Que se passe-t-il si j’échappe ou endommage mon appareil ALLERJECT?

ALLERJECT a été conçu pour encaisser les impacts physiques normaux comme une chute. Néanmoins, si vous avez le moindre doute à propos du bon fonctionnement d’ALLERJECT, demandez une autre ordonnance2.

ALLERJECT contient-il des dérivés animaliers?

Non. Le produit ne contient aucun dérivé d’origine animale, végétale ou humaine, et n’entre pas en contact avec des éléments d’origine animale, végétale ou humaine durant sa fabrication2.

ALLERJECT contient-il du latex?

Non. Les composantes, les matériaux et l’emballage d’ALLERJECT entrant en contact avec les utilisateurs ne contiennent aucun latex, et n’en sont pas dérivés1.

Les personnes souffrant d’une allergie aux sulfites peuvent-elles utiliser ALLERJECT?

Ce produit contient du métabisulfite de sodium, une substance qui peut provoquer des réactions de type allergique, notamment des symptômes anaphylactiques ou des épisodes d’asthme légers à sévères chez certaines personnes sensibles.

Néanmoins, l’épinéphrine est le médicament par excellence pour les réactions allergiques sévères et la présence de sulfites dans ce produit ne doit pas décourager l’administration du médicament pour le traitement d’allergies graves ou autres situations d’urgence, même si vous êtes sensible aux sulfites. Informez votre médecin ou votre pharmacien de tout problème médical ou médicament que vous prenez avant d’utiliser ALLERJECT1.

Références : 1. Monographie du produit ALLERJECT. kaléo, Inc. 21 novembre 2019. 2. Données consignées. 3. Monographie du produit EPIPEN. Dey Pharma, L.P. 13 mars 2012.